Spring ballots to include races for city council, town board, school board

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
MTT News Desk's picture
Matt Geiger

The filing deadline for the spring election came and went Tuesday, and there will a few contested local races on the April 1 ballot.

State offices to be elected include Court of Appeals Districts 1, 2 and 4 and Circuit Court. Various local government seats are up for re-election, including those on city, town, village and school boards.



Incumbent Second District alderman Gurdip Brar will face challenger Robert Conhaim in the only contested Middleton Common Council race.  Conhaim and Brar are no strangers, as the former was ousted from the seat in 2008 by the latter.

Incumbents Susan West (Dist. 6) and Mark Sullivan (Dist. 8) both filed to run for re-election and will not face any challengers on the ballot. District 4 alderman Jim Wexler will not seek another term, so newcomer Chad Gehin will be the only name on the ballot there.

Mayor Kurt Sonnentag will seek another three-year term and any opposition for his seat would have to come in the form of a write-in campaign.



In the Middleton-Cross Plains Area School District, three candidates will vie for two Area 4 seats on the board of education. Incumbent Annette Ashley will seek re-election and newcomers Paul Kinne, the City of Middleton’s former District 1 alderman, and Peter DeWind will also appear on the ballot. Voting is at-large in the school district, and the top two vote-getters will claim the two available Area 4 seats.

Incumbent Bob Hesselbein will not seek another term in Area 4. Incumbent Bob Green will run unopposed for his current Area 2 school board seat.



In the Town of Middleton, incumbent Paul Connell will run unopposed for Seat 3. Richard Oberle, the incumbent in Seat 4, will be challenged by Gary Whitney.



In the Town of Westport, Terry Enge and Brad Robinson, both of whom are incumbents, were the only candidates to file. Supervisors in the town do not represent specific districts.



In the Town of Springfield, incumbents Arthur Meinholz (Seat 3) and Daniel Dresen (Seat 4) were the only candidates to file.


The first day to circulate nomination papers was December 1, 2013.  The deadline to file nomination papers and other ballot access documents was 5 p.m. on Tuesday, January 7, 2014. 

The deadline for incumbents filing non-candidacy was December 27, 2013. 



Rate this article: 
No votes yet