Eady, Murphy named all-Big 8

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
MTT News's picture
Rob Reischel
Middleton junior forward Tyree Eady was named first-team all-Big Eight Conference.File photo

Middleton junior forward Tyree Eady and junior guard Storm Murphy were both named first-team all-Big Eight Conference Monday night. The duo helped lead the Cardinals to a share of their first conference title since 2001.

Madison East senior wing Deang Deang was named the conference’s Player of the Year, while Sun Prairie’s Jeff Boos was the Coach of the Year. Madison Memorial junior center Chris Knight and Sun Prairie point guard Sam Kerr were also named first-team all-league.

Eady leads the Big Eight Conference in scoring at 20.7 points per game. Eady has scored in double figures in all 22 of Middleton’s games and has scored 20 points, or more, in 13 games. Eady is also averaging 5.2 rebounds, 3.2 steals and 1.8 assists per game.

Murphy is second on the Cardinals and sixth in the league in scoring (17.9). He also averages 4.3 assists, 2.0 steals, 3.3 rebounds and shoots 82.0% from the free throw line.

There was some confusion surrounding Murphy’s results.

During the all-conference meeting, coaches have a brief period of time to talk about players they feel are worthy of all-conference status. Coaches then submit a list of their top-10 players in the league.

The player they deem is best in the league gets 10 points, the second best gets nine points, and so on. The players with the top five point totals make up the first team, the next five earn second team honors, etc.

On one ballot, Murphy was voted the best player in the league, meaning he should have received 10 points. But those points were inadvertently recorded in another player’s column, meaning Murphy received zero points from that coach.

When the results were first tabulated, Murphy finished on the second team. When the results were scrutinized closer on Tuesday, the error was found and Murphy was bumped up to the first team.

Here are the all-conference selections:



Deang Deang         Sr.   Madison East

Chris Knight            Jr.   Madison Memorial

Tyree Eady             Jr.   Middleton

Storm Murphy         Jr.   Middleton

Sam Kerr                Sr.   Sun Prairie



Cole Schmitz          Sr.    Verona

SanTrell Payton      Jr.    Janesville Craig

Roderick Johnson   Sr.    Sun Prairie

Sam Meyer              Sr.   Madison West

Keshawn Justice     So.   Madison East



Carlos Campos       Sr.   Janesville Parker

Steve Wooten         Jr.    Madison East

Kwan Clements       Sr.   Verona

Drew Freitag           Jr.    Beloit Memorial

Adam Ahnold          Jr.    Janesville Craig



David Turner          Sr.   Madison La Follette

Jake Ferguson       Jr.    Madison Memorial

Nathaniel Buss       Jr.    Verona

Jake Negus            Jr.    Janesville Craig

Greg Wright           Sr.   Madison West

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)