Herb named state's top golfer

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
MTT News's picture
Rob Reischel
Middleton’s Emmet Herb was named the Golf Coaches Association of Wisconsin state player of the year./Times-Tribune photo by Mary Langenfeld

Emmet Herb has joked he’s 130 pounds — “dripping wet.”

But one of the smallest golfers in the state was also the best in 2016.

On Tuesday, the Golf Coaches Association of Wisconsin named Herb the boys state Player of the Year. Herb, who won the WIAA Division 1 individual state title earlier this month, was also named first-team all-state.

In addition, Middleton senior Joey Levin was named second-team all-state, while senior Brady Thomas was named honorable-mention all-state.

“That was pretty neat to hear,” Middleton coach Tom Cabalka said. “I was hoping he would be first team and I was fairly confident in that. But this was a great surprise. He was our little big man.”

Herb shot a remarkable 6-under-par at the state tournament and won that event by seven strokes. Herb’s 138 total was the third lowest in any division since the state tournament moved to University Ridge Golf Course in 1994.

“It's pretty hard to believe,” Herb said Tuesday night. “I was really shocked to hear, but it is truly an honor.”

Herb finished the year with a 75.0 average. He finished first at the Sauk Prairie Invite, first at the Sparta Invite, first at the Madison Memorial Invite and won a pair of Big Eight Conference meets.

“It’s a dream year for Emmet,” Cabalka said. “He’s the type of kid that eight or 10 years ago, when he started hanging around Pleasant View as a little toddler, he was kind of was always the underdog.

“He wasn’t at the level that Joey (Levin) or Brady (Thomas) were. But he improved and improved and his greatest attribute is that he never gets too up or too down.”

Levin had a memorable season, as well, and finished with a 75.8 average. Levin was first at the WPGA Tournament held at Maple Bluff, first at the Onalaska Invite and finished second at the Big Eight Conference meet.

“He had a great year again,” Cabalka said of Levin. “He improved a couple of strokes each year and had an incredible career for us.”

Thomas averaged 77.8 and had some big performances along the way.

Thomas shot a 2-under-par, 70, on the second day of the Morgan Stanley Tournament held at University Ridge. Thomas was second at The Legends of Bristlecone Pines, tied for third at the Big Eight Conference meet and won a conference meet held at Odana Hills.

“Brady threw in some real good rounds,” Cabalka said. “He’s one of those kids that continues to work hard and really wants to do something with his golf career.”


First Team

Emmet Herb - Middleton (Player of the Year)

Matt Bachmann - Sheboygan Falls

Bennett Knapek - Arrowhead

Tyler Leach - Spring Valley

Harrison Ott - Milwaukee Marquette

Nate Thomson - Greendale

Matt Tolan - Eau Claire North

Matt Tuman - Wausau East


Second Team

Chris Colla - Winnebago Lutheran Academy

Sam Galloway - Neenah

Dawson Hinz - Baraboo

Evan Hussey - Milwaukee Marquette

Joey Levin - Middleton

Robbie Morway - Mequon Homestead

Jacob O’Loughlin -Madison Memorial

Patrick Treichel - Fond du Lac St. Mary’s Springs


Third Team

Luke Bourneuf - Lake Geneva Badger

Andrew Clement - Pewaukee

Jack Dorward - Cedarburg

Ben Gilles - Madison Edgewood

Matthew Higley - Eleva Strum

Brock Hlinak - Kaukauna

Ryan Konop - Green Bay Notre Dame

Alex Yost - Arrowhead


Honorable Mention

Jed Baranczyk - Bay Port

Tyler Beeck - Sheboygan Falls

Jack Blair - Milwaukee Marquette

Steven Butler - Milwaukee Marquette

Tyler Cleaves - Kaukauna

Logan Comte - Eau Claire North

Patrick Darling - Green Bay Notre Dame

Ethan Diestler - Green Bay Notre Dame

Kevin Hershberger - Brookfield Central

Michael Immekus - Waukesha Catholic Memorial

David Keane - Milwaukee Marquette

Zach Kimball - Kaukauna

Jacob Michel - Lodi

Jack O’Brien - Racine St. Catherine’s

Max Pasher - Mequon Homestead

Robert Petitjean - Green Bay Notre Dame

Isaac Prefontaine - Green Bay Preble

Josh Rowinski - Waukesha Catholic Memorial

Nolan Ruffing - Franklin

Brady Sarauer - Fond du Lac St. Mary’s Springs

Patrick Sicula - Whitefish Bay

Brady Thomas - Middleton

Ian Tisonik - Catholic Memorial

Logan Walzer - Lodi

Steven Young - Cedarburg

Sean Yun - Brookfield Central


Rate this article: 
Average: 4 (1 vote)