Great expectations await boys track team

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
MTT News's picture
Rob Reischel
Jack Toennies and Middleton’s boys track and field team have high hopes for the 2017 season./Times-Tribune photo by Mary Langenfeld

Joe Line’s debut season was one to remember.

Now, Middleton’s boys track and field coach hopes the encore is just as exciting.

The Cardinals won their fourth straight Big Eight Conference title last year. Middleton followed that up with a second place finish at the WIAA Division 1 state meet, the best finish in school history.

As a new season begins, the Cardinals have a bevy of goals. Among them is to capture a fifth straight conference title and shine at state once again.

“The Big Eight is very strong with Verona, (Madison) La Follette, and Madison Memorial,” said Middleton coach Joe Line, whose team begins its season April 1 at the Madison West Relays. “These teams always have very talented squads and their coaches put them in the right positions. 

“We expect to win the Big Eight Conference meet and hold off all these great teams. We also are looking to score at state and the main goal is to get as many there as we can and see how many points we can put up.”

Middleton must replace standout Perrin Hagge, who scored 23 of the Cardinals’ 41 points at state. But Middleton has several individuals that seem poised for big years.

Senior Gus Newcomb was third at state in the 1,600 and fourth in the 3,200.

Jack Rader, now a junior, also finished seventh at state in the 3,200-meter run last year. Ryan Madoch is another top returning distance runner.

Tre Turner, who qualified for state in the 800-meter relay, is a senior who will run the 100 and 200, and also compete in relays and the long jump. Triple jumper Jackson Grimm went to sectionals last year and is looking to make a run at state. 

Middleton also has a core group of returning sprinters that includes Anthony Gaitlin, Austin Delaney, James Pabst and Dion Huff. Max Elliot will lead the Cardinals’ throwing group, while Louis Hinshaw and Matt Lieferman will lead Middleton’s pole vaulters. In addition, Jack Tonnies figures to be Middleton’s main hurdler.

“For having such a successful year we have a lot of athletes coming back that had success last year,” Line said.

There are a handful of newcomers that should contribute, as well. That group will be led by sophomore Caleb Easton (1,600), senior Preston Lewis (400) and sophomore Eagan Peters-Michaud (long jump, high jump, 400).

Middleton’s greatest strengths appear to be in the distance groups and sprint teams. But with 130 athletes in the program, the Cardinals should be solid in most areas.

“I think we have a lot of depth on this team and should contend in all areas,” Line said.

Overall, Line expects this to be another memorable year.

“I am really excited about this team,” Line said. “We have tremendous leadership to an extent I have not seen in 11 years of coaching. 

“The athletes are putting in the work even with the weather not cooperating. This should be an exciting season.”



Seniors: Myron Ashford, Harrison Bielski, Trystin Benson, Matthew Cushman, Austin Delaney, Greg Driscoll, Max Elliott, Anthony Gatlin, Austin Granderson, Jackson Grimm, Alec Hanson, Ben Harris, Louis Hinshaw, Gavin Katovich, Eman Kitchen, Roman Kryshak, Daniel Ledin, Matthew Leiferman, Preston Lewis, Joe Ludwig, Ryan Madoch, Brendon Martin, Seamus McWilliams, Gus Newcomb, Quinn Pierstorff, Noah Roberson, Cole Sampson, Avhinav Sarabu, Jack Toennies, Trevaun Turner, Sammy Zopf.

Juniors: Kane Birscbach, Tristan Carroll, Dion Huff, Sam Jaeger, Moubarak Jeje, Koby Koistinen, Jake Lamers, Richard Liu, Daniel MacLean, James Pabst, Cole Parrell, Nick Pliner, Jack Rader, Caleb Randall, Nick Rawling, Aaron Richardson, Alex Schmidt, John Stenklyft, Kevin Sun, Eliot Waddell, Jack Weiler.

Sophomores: Jay Ahe, Salaar Akbar, Sean Bertalot, Jordan Brooks, Ian Casper, Caleb Easton, Ben Eisner, Logan Frey, Sam Gessler, Will Hoferle, Kevin Houck, Vince Joswiak, Dylan Kalscheur, Tyler Kalscheur, Josh Lahaie, Matthew Lorfeld, Michael Madoch, Aidan McEllistrem, Aidan Mills, Max Newcomer, Gage O’Mara-Jones, Ben Petersen, Eagan Peters-Michaud, Logan Prichard, Cameron Regan, Cooper Skubal, Sam Spellman, Brady Statz, Frank Thornton, David Whittingham, Jack Wilson, Stuart Wodzro, Elliot Zanon, Jason Zhou, Jakob Zweber.

Freshmen: Oliver Braaten, August Braaten, Jadin Brown, Nick Castillo, Ian Davis, Daniel DeJarlias, Ryan Donndelinger, Johnathan Downs, Julian Engle, Braedon Gilles, Hunter Grimm, Stephon Harrison, Max Helmke, Jerry Huff, Alec Inman, Egan Johnson, Joseph Kean, Will Kovall, Jungwon Lee, Zach Leffel, Jackson LeRoy, Julio Lima-Sanchez, Ethan Lin, Ben Litchfield, Calvin Lopez-srem, Seth Luetscher, Zach Mayhew, Gabriel Medina, Jack Ohly, Dabe Okoli, Henry Patterson, Jacob Lavelski, Rollie Schlieckau, Alex Schuster, Stephen Shi, Thomas Silver, Owen Szot, Jacob Vogt, Casey Waddell, Caleb Wickre, Roman Ystenes, Daniel Zens.



Rate this article: 
Average: 2.9 (26 votes)